Communication and Convention

Yesterday, I emerged from my cave and heard on the radio, for the first time, “Rude Boy” by Rihanna. Not gonna lie, I like this track. I downloaded it when I returned home and have listened to it half a dozen times in the past day.

The lyrics “Come here rude boy, boy is you big enough?” doesn’t use the correct form of the verb “to be.” The “correct” version of this would be, “… boy, are you big enough?”

But we’re talking about entertainment and communication, here, so this is a big, fat SO WHAT?

(nsfw blogger) puts it nicely:

I am aware of most of my errors. However, this is a blog and I’m not going to go back and check and correct every little error. If I have the time, I’ll proofread, or go back and correct little errors. However, when I write, I usually only have 10-15 minutes free, which basically means that I’m not going to check for every little error or look up the proper way to word something. The way I see it is that this isn’t a term paper, and almost all of you get what I’m trying to say anyway, so it’s not that big of a deal.

I’m not saying convention isn’t important, I’m just saying it isn’t always necessary.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

